JOHN MACKEY AWARD

BEST COLLEGIATE TIGHT END

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: media@johnmackeyaward.com



2018 JOHN MACKEY AWARD PRESEASON WATCH LIST RELEASED

New York, N.Y. (July 20, 2018) – The Friends of John Mackey have released the 2018 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2018 Mackey Award recipient will be announced on December 5, 2018 and then presented live on December 6, 2018 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU. All future announcements can be found at www.johnmackeyaward.com.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, recognizes fifteen alumni that have played in the NFL: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark ('02), Kellen Winslow II ('03), two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04), Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Green Bay Packers, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth ('06), Fred Davis ('07), Chase Coffman ('08), D.J. Williams ('10), Dwayne Allen ('11) of the New England Patriots, Tyler Eifert ('12) of the Cincinnati Bengals, Austin Seferian-Jenkins ('13) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, Nick O'Leary ('14) of the Buffalo Bills, Hunter Henry ('15) of the Los Angeles Chargers, Jake Butt (16') of the Denver Broncos and 2017 John Mackey Award recipient Mark Andrews of the Baltimore Ravens.

2018 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List

(in alphabetical order)

First Name	Last Name	School	Year
Chase	Allen	Iowa St	So
Kemari	Averett	Louisville	So
John	Bates	Boise St	So
Andrew	Beck	Texas	Sr
Nate	Becker	Miami (OH)	Jr
Jacob	Breeland	Oregon	Jr
Harrison	Bryant	Florida Atlantic	Jr
Matt	Bushman	BYU	So
Cameron	Butler	Colorado St	So
Grant	Calcaterra	Oklahoma	So
CJ	Conrad	Kentucky	Sr
Kevin "KC"	Crosby	South Carolina	Sr

(Continued)

First Name	Last Name	School	Year
Micky	Crum	Louisville	Sr
Mik'Quan	Deane	Western Kentucky	Sr
Louis	Dorsey	Illinois	So
Noah	Fant	lowa	Jr
Luke	Farrell	Ohio St	So
Zach	Gentry	Michigan	Jr
Nolan	Givan	Ball St	So
Daniel	Helm	Duke	Sr
Hale	Hentges	Alabama	Sr
Cole	Herdman	Purdue	Sr
TJ	Hockenson	lowa	So
Jonathan	Holland	Penn St	Jr
Ray	Hudson	California	Sr
Charles	Jones	Tulane	Sr
Camrin	Knight	Georgia St	Jr
Dawson	Knox	Ole Miss	Jr
Tyler	Mabry	Buffalo	Jr
Alize	Mack	Notre Dame	Jr
Joey	Magnifico	Memphis	Jr
Sean	McKeon	Michigan	Jr
Foster	Moreau	LSU	Sr
Isaac	Nauta	Georgia	Jr
Zander	Neuville	Wisconsin	Sr
Albert	Okwuegbunam	Missouri	So
Josh	Oliver	San Jose St	Sr
Josh	Pederson	ULM	So
Kyle	Penniston	Wisconsin	Jr
Tyler	Petite	USC	Sr
Ravian	Pierce	Syracuse	Sr
Jared	Pinkney	Vanderbilt	Jr
Dax	Raymond	Utah St	Jr
Collin	Reed	Appalachian St	Jr
Giovanni	Ricci	Western Michigan	Jr
Jared	Rice	Fresno St	Jr
Milan	Richard	Clemson	Sr
Ellis	Richardson	Georgia Southern	Sr
Chase	Rogers	Louisiana	So
Drew	Sample	Washington	Sr
Mavin	Saunders	Kansas	Sr
Logan	Scott	UAB	Sr
Kaden	Smith	Stanford	So
Kelvin	Smith	North Texas	Jr
Jace	Sternberger	Texas A&M	Jr
Jack	Stoll	Nebraska	So

(Continued)

First Name	Last Name	School	Year
Tommy	Sweeney	Boston College	Jr
Carl	Tucker	North Carolina	Jr
Kahale	Warring	San Diego St	Jr
Jerome	Washington	Rutgers	Sr
Mitchell	Wilcox	USF	Jr
Caleb	Wilson	UCLA	Jr
Bryce	Wolma	Arizona	So
Kenny	Yeboah	Temple	So

The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 24 awards boast over 750 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit www.NCFAA.org to learn more about our story.



The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Seventeen of the association's 24 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates. Following is the entire 2018 preseason watch list calendar:

Monday July 16 Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award

Tuesday July 17 Davey O'Brien Award

Wednesday July 18 Doak Walker Award

Thursday July 19 Biletnikoff Award

Friday July 20 Mackey Award & Rimington Award

Monday July 23 Thorpe Award & Butkus Award

Tuesday July 24 Outland Trophy & Nagurski Award

Wednesday July 25 Groza Award & Ray Guy Award

Thursday July 26 Hornung Award & Wuerffel Trophy

Friday July 27 Walter Camp Award

The Friends of John Mackey are responsible for the administration of the John Mackey Award & the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. Please visit http://www.johnmackeyaward.com for more information.