JOHN MACKEY AWARD

BEST COLLEGIATE TIGHT END

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: media@johnmackeyaward.com



2017 JOHN MACKEY AWARD PRESEASON WATCH LIST RELEASED

New York, N.Y. (July 11, 2017) – The Friends of John Mackey have released the 2017 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2017 Mackey Award recipient will be announced on December 6, 2017 and then presented live on December 7, 2017 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU. All future announcements can be found at www.johnmackeyaward.com.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, recognizes fourteen alumni that have played in the NFL: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark ('02), Kellen Winslow II ('03), two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04), Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth ('06), Fred Davis ('07), Chase Coffman ('08), D.J. Williams ('10), Dwayne Allen ('11) of the New England Patriots, Tyler Eifert ('12) of the Cincinnati Bengals, Austin Seferian-Jenkins ('13) of the New York Jets, Nick O'Leary ('14) of the Buffalo Bills, Hunter Henry of the Los Angeles Chargers and 2016 John Mackey Award recipient Jake Butt of the Denver Broncos.

2017 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List

(in alphabetical order)

First Name	Last Name	School	Year
Jordan	Akins	UCF	Jr
Julian	Allen	Southern Miss	Sr
Mark	Andrews	Oklahoma	Jr
Marcus	Baugh	Ohio State	Sr
Alec	Bloom	Connecticut	Sr
Adam	Breneman	Massachusetts	Sr
Tyler	Conklin	Central Michigan	Sr
C.J.	Conrad	Kentucky	Jr
Cole	Cook	NC State	Sr

(continued)

Micky	Crum	Louisville	Jr
Jordan	Davis	Louisville	So
Donnie	Ernsberger	Western Michigan	Sr
Jordan	Feuerbacher	Baylor	Sr
Maaseiah	Francis	South Alabama	Jr
Brandon	Fritts	North Carolina	Jr
	Fumagalli	Wisconsin	Sr
Troy Mike	Gesicki	Penn State	Sr
De'Andre		Florida	Sr
Daniel	Goolsby		
	Helm	Duke	Jr
Hale	Hentges	Alabama	Jr Cr
Chris	Herndon	Miami, FI	Sr
Ray	Hudson	California	Sr
Hayden	Hurst	South Carolina	Jr
Daniel	Imatorbhebhe	USC	So
Ryan	Izzo	Florida State	Jr
Ben	Johnson	Kansas	Sr
Charles	Jones	Tulane	Jr
Brandon	Lingen	Minnesota	Sr
Alize	Mack	Notre Dame	Jr
Blake	Mack	Arkansas State	Sr
Troy	Mangen	Ohio	Sr
Isaac	Nauta	Georgia	So
Kyle	Penniston	Wisconsin	So
Dax	Raymond	Utah State	So
Austin	Roberts	UCLA	Jr
Jake	Roh	Boise State	Sr
Drew	Sample	Washington	Jr
Gabe	Schrade	Texas State	Sr
Dalton	Schultz	Stanford	Jr
Cam	Serigne	Wake Forest	Sr
Ryan	Smith	Miami, Oh	Sr
Durham	Smythe	Notre Dame	Sr
Tommy	Sweeney	Boston College	Jr
Metuisela	Unga	Hawaii	Sr
Dayton	Valentine	Kansas State	Jr
Melvin	Vaughn	Old Dominion	Sr
David	Wells	San Diego State	Sr
Ari	Werts	Georgia State	Jr
Tyrone	Wheatley	Michigan	So
Mitchell	Wilcox	USF	So
Shaq	Williams	UTSA	Sr
Shane	Wimann	Northern Illinois	Sr
Ethan	Wolf	Tennessee	Sr
Nate	Wozniak	Minnesota	Sr
ITULL	TTOZITICIN	Milliosota	OI.

The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 23 awards boast over 745 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit www.NCFAA.org to learn more about our story.



The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Seventeen of the association's 23 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates. Following is the entire 2016 preseason watch list calendar:

Monday July 10: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award

Tuesday July 11 Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy

Wednesday July 12 Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award

Thursday July 13 Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy

Friday July 14 Jim Thorpe Award

Monday July 17 Butkus Award / Paul Hornung Award

Tuesday July 18 Biletnikoff Award / Wuerffel Trophy

Wednesday July 19 Davey O'Brien Award

Thursday July 20 Doak Walker Award

Friday July 21 Walter Camp Award

The Friends of John Mackey are responsible for the administration of the John Mackey Award & the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. Please visit http://www.johnmackeyaward.com for more information.